CPPAQ's Board

Board Member: Margie Kruger
Margie Kruger is a Partner at Ryan Kruger Lawyers and practises in the area of family law and child protection law.  Ryan Kruger Lawyers was named in the 2014 Doyle’s Guide as a Leading Family Law Firm in Queensland and Margie was also recognised as a recommended Queensland Family Lawyer.  Prior to commencing practice as a lawyer in 2000, Margie was a social worker with Child Safety and worked in various roles including assessing notifications of harm, policy advisor and senior advisor in child protection in the court division of the department.  Ms Kruger is a member of the Queensland Law Society Family Law Committee.  Ms Kruger is appointed to the Legal Aid Qld Panel of Independent Children Lawyers and Separate Representatives. Ms Kruger recently has been appointed as a member of the Child Death Case Review Panel.

Board Member: Catherine Moynihan
Catherine Moynihan is the Director of Legal Services and Official Solicitor in the Office of the Public Guardian. She has 20 years of experience of working with children and young people and their legal issues since 1997 including as a lawyer for a Local Authority, the Department equivalent in the UK, in a community legal centre and at Legal Aid Queensland.  As a policy officer in the Queensland Department of Premier and Cabinet, she also worked on the legislative reforms to child protection legislation that came out of Queensland's 2004 CMC Inquiry into Abuse in Foster Care. She is a Churchill Fellow completing a study tour on advocacy and legal representation for children and young people in care, which took her to the UK and US.

Board Member: Prof. Clare Tilbury
Clare Tilbury has over 30 years’ experience as a social work practitioner including working in a positions involving direct practice with children, young people and families. She also has extensive experience as a researcher and educator, stakeholder advocate and in policy and program development/implementation, research in government and university settings and management. Clare's current position is the Life Without Barriers Carol Peltola Research Chair at the School of Human Services and Social Work, Griffith University.  The focus of her research is on the quality and outcomes of child and family services, utilising performance measurement and mixed-method approaches to investigate the effectiveness of child protection systems, strategies and services.

Board Member: Leanne Scoines
Leanne is a solicitor and social worker with  over twenty years’ child protection experience working with vulnerable children and their families and experience in the areas of family law and domestic violence.  In 2008 Leanne received the Queensland Commission for Children and Young People Child Protection Week Professional Services Award for outstanding contribution to child protection practice in Queensland. Leanne has a strong commitment to social justice and ensuring that the most vulnerable members of the community have access to advocacy.  Leanne is currently working at knowmore legal service which offers assistance in relation to The Royal Commission Into Institution Responses to Child Sexual Abuse providing legal advice about the Royal Commission, its legal powers and procedures and a range of other legal issues, including compensation or other forms of redress and confidentially agreements.  Leanne also works on a volunteer basis at the Women’s Legal Service.

Board Member: Dr Meegan Crawford
Meegan Crawford is a social worker with over 25 years experience in direct practice, policy, program design and training roles. Currently the Manager of the Quality Practice Team within the Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services' Practice Leadership Unit, Meegan is also an adjunct lecturer at Griffith University where she teaches in the Working with Family Violence course. Meegan has a strong interest in adult and well being outcomes and has experience researching the role of carers and caseworkers in the career development process of young people in care.

Board Member: Debbie Jones

Debbie Jones has worked in the Queensland Public Service for over twenty years, undertaking a variety of roles including policy development, project management, service delivery, management and staff development/capacity building. Debbie has a strong social justice background, including roles in prosecutions, corrections, and police.  Throughout her career, she has focussed on the needs and issues of vulnerable people including victims of crime, children in the youth justice and child protection systems, and Indigenous people, particularly Indigenous homelessness and suicide. Debbie has been involved in developing and delivering QPS responses to the Queensland Child Protection Commission of Inquiry, the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, and the Queensland Organised Crime Commission of Inquiry.  She has driven significant cultural change within the child harm investigation field, and has represented the QPS at national forums relating to child harm and technology facilitated child sexual abuse. Debbie is currently managing the implementation of recommendations from the Queensland Organised Crime Commission of Inquiry, with a particular focus on the ‘blitz’ on offenders sharing child exploitation material on peer to peer platforms. Debbie is committed to developing and delivering evidence-based policy in the field of policing responses to children and young people.  She has developed ties to the Griffith University School of Criminology and continues to support the supervision of students on professional placement within the QPS Child Safety & Sexual Crime Group.

Board Member: James Scott
James Scott is a child and adolescent psychiatrist who has worked clinically in community & inpatient settings. He holds a conjoint position with The University of Queensland & Metro North Mental Health Service. He is an author on over 130 publications, is an Expert Advisor on the Global Burden of Disease Project for Childhood Mental Disorders and was the lead author of the Disease Control Priority Network chapter for childhood mental, behavioural & developmental disorders. He has ongoing involvement in clinical & epidemiological research to improve the mental health and well-being of children & youth.  

Founding Members:

• Bruce Doyle
• Murray Green
• Dr Scott Harden
• Gordon Harris
• Kendall Hawdon
• Robin Slade Jones
• Kathryn McMillan SC
• Nigel Miller

• Lisa O'Neill
• Dr Jillian Spencer
• Dr Stephen Stathis

© Child Protection Practitioners Association of Queensland Limited
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software